List of Champions League Winners (clubs and years)

The term “Champions League Winners” transports one through the celebrated and notable legacy of the UEFA Champions League. The UEFA Champions League, often regarded as the pinnacle of European club football, has a rich and illustrious history from its inception in 1955. Initially known as the European Cup, the competition was rebranded in 1992, but its essence remained unchanged: to crown the continent’s top football club.

Over the years, the Champions League has been a stage for unforgettable matches, showcasing the talents of the world’s best players and the strategic understanding of the finest coaches. This article aims to take you on a journey through time, listing the Champions League winners from its beginnings to the present day.

From Real Madrid’s early dominance to the modern-day triumphs of clubs like Chelsea and Bayern Munich, we will explore the legacy of the teams that have reached the pinnacle of European football, engraving their names into the pages of history.

champions league winners

List of Champions League winners

  • 1956-1960: Real Madrid
  • 1961-1962: Benfica
  • 1963: Milan
  • 1964-1965: Inter
  • 1966: Real Madrid
  • 1967: Celtic
  • 1968: Manchester United
  • 1969: Milan
  • 1970: Feyenoord
  • 1971-1973: Ajax
  • 1974-1976: Bayern Munich
  • 1977-1978, 1981, 1984: Liverpool
  • 1979-1980: Nottingham Forest
  • 1982: Aston Villa
  • 1983: Hamburg
  • 1985: Juventus
  • 1986: Steaua București
  • 1987: Porto
  • 1988: PSV Eindhoven
  • 1989-1990: Milan
  • 1991: Red Star Belgrade
  • 1992: Barcelona
  • 1993: Marseille
  • 1994: Milan
  • 1995: Ajax
  • 1996: Juventus
  • 1997: Borussia Dortmund
  • 1998, 2000, 2002, 2014, 2016-2018: Real Madrid
  • 1999, 2008: Manchester United
  • 2001, 2013, 2020: Bayern Munich
  • 2003, 2007: Milan
  • 2004: Porto
  • 2005, 2019: Liverpool
  • 2006, 2009, 2011, 2015: Barcelona
  • 2010: Inter
  • 2012, 2021: Chelsea
  • 2022: Real Madrid
  • 2023: Manchester City

Who won most of the Champions League?

As of April 2023, Real Madrid holds the record for the most UEFA Champions League titles. The club has won the prestigious European competition 14 times. Their victories in the tournament have been a testament to their enduring success and dominance in European football over the years. Real Madrid’s victories have been spread across several decades, showcasing their ability to remain at the pinnacle of European club football through different eras.

How many teams have won the Champions League?

22 different clubs have won the UEFA Champions League (previously referred to as the European Cup until the 1991-92 season). This includes the period from the inception of the tournament in the 1955-56 season to the present. The competition has been won mostly by clubs from Spain, Italy, England, and Germany, among Europe’s strongest football leagues.

Which 5 English teams have won the Champions League?

These clubs are:

  • Liverpool– Liverpool is the most successful English club in the competition’s history, having won it six times (1977, 1978, 1981, 1984, 2005, and 2019).
  • Manchester United– Manchester United have won the Champions League thrice (1968, 1999, and 2008).
  • Nottingham Forest– Nottingham Forest won the competition twice, in consecutive years (1979 and 1980).
  • Chelsea– Chelsea has won the Champions League twice (2012 and 2021).
  • Aston Villa– Aston Villa won the competition once, in 1982.

Who has more than 5 Champions League?

Clubs with more than five UEFA Champions League titles are:

  • Real Madrid– With 14 titles, Real Madrid boasts the record for the highest number of Champions League victories.
  • AC Milan– AC Milan has won the competition 7 times.
  • LiverpoolLiverpool has secured the Champions League trophy 6 times.

These clubs have shown exceptional performance in European football, consistently contending at the highest level and achieving significant success over the years. Real Madrid, in particular, stands out with its unparalleled record, underlining the club’s dominant presence in the history of the competition.

Bottom line

The list of Champions League winners over the years reads like a who’s who of footballing royalty, with each club having its unique story of triumph. Real Madrid’s unparalleled success, AC Milan’s storied history, Liverpool’s dramatic victories, and the recent achievements of teams like Chelsea and Bayern Munich highlight the diversity and competitive nature of the tournament.

As we look back on past champions, we also look forward to the future, eager to see which clubs will rise to the challenge and add their name to the prestigious list of UEFA Champions League winners.


Share This Article